Enterprise-grade solutions with personalized support.
Learn more
We focus on growing businesses because they are the main engine of the US economy.
Learn More
We are a technology and service company that puts people first in everything we do.
Learn More
Enterprise HCM software and services for growing businesses.
Learn More
How CAVU Human Capital Management helped Risinger* pave a path to growth
Learn More
CAVU HCM gives Riverfront the cost-effective, simple payroll solution they need.
Learn More
Explore a one-of-a-kind boutique payroll and HR technology and services firm where relationships are our number one priority.

Florida's Minimum Wage Increases Through 2026

florida minimum wage 2022 stack

Florida's minimum wage is set to increase to $15 per hour, but it will do so by increasing by one dollar per year through 2026. Voters in the state of Florida decided this would occur via Amendment 2 to the state constitution in 2020. 

Florida Minimum Wage for 2022

Florida's hourly minimum wage is $10 per hour, but on September 30, 2022 the minimum wage will increase from $10 to $11 per hour. For tipped workers, the minimum wage will increase from $6.98 to $7.98 per hour. Additionally, the state of Florida follows the federal overtime laws, for any time over 40 hours in a work week, hourly pay is calculated at time and half. For minimum wage earners, the overtime rate will increase from $15 to $16.50 per hour for standard workers and $11.98 to $13.48 per hour for tipped workers. Florida is one of 25 states that implemented an increase to their minimum wage rates in 2022. 

In addition to the Florida minimum wage increase, Florida employers are required to post a minimum wage notice in a conspicuous and accessible place in each location where employees perform mini­mum wage work. Employers taking a tip credit against their tipped employees’ wages are required to provide their tipped employees with notice of:

  1. The amount of cash wages the employ­er is paying the tipped employee.
  2. The amount claimed by the employer as a tip credit.
  3. The tip credit cannot exceed the amount of tips actually received.
  4. All tips received by the employee are to be retained by the employee except where the employee participates in a valid tip pool.
  5. The tip credit will not apply to any tipped employ­ee unless the employee has been informed of these provisions.

State of Florida Minimum Wage Increases Through 2026

Effective Date Minimum Wage (Regular) Minimum Wage Overtime
September 30, 2022 $11.00 $16.50
September 30, 2023 $12.00

$18.00

September 30, 2024 $13.00 $19.50
September 30, 2025 $14.00 $21.00
September 30, 2026 $15.00 $22.50

 

Minimum Wage Beyond 2026

In 2027, the state of Florida will revert back to using inflation rates to adjust its minimum wage rates. The Department of Economic Opportunity will use the Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers to determine future minimum wage increases. This means minimum wage can continue to increase in 2027 and beyond based on inflation. Florida law does require the state government to post changes and effective dates of the change to its website by October 15 of each calendar year. These can be found on the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity or Department of Revenue websites. 

Get Payroll Help Now

State by State 2022 Minimum Wage Increases

State

2021

2022

Alaska

$10.34

$10.34

Arizona

$12.15

$12.80

Arkansas

$11.00

TBD

California

$14.00

$14.00-$15.00

Colorado

$12.32

$12.56

Connecticut

$13.00

$14.00 in July

Delaware

$9.25

$10.50

District of Columbia

$15.20

TBD

Florida

$10.00

$11.00 in September

Illinois

$11.00

$12.00

Maine

$12.15

$12.75

Maryland

$11.75

$12.20-$12.50

Massachusetts

$13.50

$14.25

Michigan

$9.65

$9.87

Minnesota

$10.08

$10.33

Missouri

$10.30

$11.15

Montana

$8.75

$9.20

Nevada

$9.75

$10.50

New Jersey

$12.00

$13.00

New Mexico

$10.50

$11.50

New York

$12.50

$13.20

Ohio

$8.80

$9.30

Oregon

$12.75

$13.50

Puerto Rico

$6.55

TBD

Rhode Island

$11.50

$12.25

South Dakota

$9.45

$9.95

Vermont

$11.75

$12.55

Virginia

$9.50

$11.00

Washington

$13.69

$14.49

 


DISCLAIMER: The information provided herein does not constitute the provision of legal advice, tax advice, accounting services or professional consulting of any kind. The information provided herein should not be used as a substitute for consultation with professional legal, tax, accounting, or other professional advisers. Before making any decision or taking any action, you should consult a professional adviser who has been provided with all pertinent facts relevant to your particular situation and for your particular state(s) of operation.